Simplicity

When I first started taking pictures, I didn’t have a clue what an f stop, shutter speed and ISO meant. At that time, it did not occur to me that they are the most important factors of photography. All I care is to point the camera to my subject and press the shutter button. Until one day, a friend of mine who is a photography enthusiast told me about the importance of aperture, shutter speed and ISO. He also taught me the basic composition technique and explained to me that photography is all about light and after that, the rest was history.

In-spite the fact that I have read a lot of articles on the internet and learned quite a few about photography, I still consider myself as an amateur/novice who is willing to learn new techniques. For me, taking pictures is a perishable skill and it requires constant practise. Here’s some random photos about my project entitled “simplicity.” It is a collection of photographs that defy the basic rules of photography. 

img_1019-1_editMy urban version of “Footprints in the Sand”

In this photo, the subject which is the shoeprint was not properly framed. Thus, breaking the rules of composition. If the shot was composed by placing the subject diagonally it would have had a different effect in the final picture. But I did not do it on purpose.

_pjo5387_editShadow of love

The shadow here is my main subject which was positioned in the centre of the frame thus braking again another rule of photography.

_pjo4288_editReflection

The subject in this photo is obviously the people walking. Taking photos of reflections often requires good lighting and good calculation of distance. According to the experts and professionals “Focusing on the plane of the reflected surface won’t necessarily mean the reflected image itself will be sharp.” In this shot, I tried to experiment and did not calculate the distance from camera to mirrored surface plus the distance from mirrored surface to the subject matter being reflected. I should have waited until the people walking reach to the area where it was properly lit which is a few meters away to where they are heading. Then refocus, recomposed and take the shot.

img_4225_editLight my way home

Leading Lines that doesn’t lead to a subject matter.

_pjo4083_editLocks of love

Padlocks that doesn’t mean a thing and again more lines that does not lead to a subject.

dsc_0251_editSea shells

The subject was properly positioned here, but the shot was taken in a rush. But then again, all this was done to satisfy myself and to prove that even if I don’t follow the rules or guides of photography, I can still create decent images. That’s it folks, until next time. Bye for now !  🙂

Leave a Reply

